Motherless Daughters

My mom died when I was 10, and it certainly affected my life. I was pretty much in charge of the household after that – cooking, cleaning, taking care of my little sister – while my father worked very hard to take care of us. (He would drop us off at our school teacher’s house in the morning, and pick us up after work in the afternoon… we went to a one-room school in western Maine, so had the same teacher!)

I suspect this early experience led not only to my intense need to take care of people (not so much in a warm & fuzzy way, but in a constantly alert and looking out for them kind of way), and to be an achiever… but also, I have to wonder… to be an entrepreneur.

When the book “Motherless Daughters” came out, I bought it – and found I couldn’t read it because of the feelings it dredged up. (I’m still unable to read it.)

Is there anyone out there who has read it? Any other motherless daughters who might weigh in on whether there’s a correlation between death of a mother at an early age and entrepreneurship?

Leave a Reply

